The Strange Heat – The Black Rabbit EP


The Strange Heat is a collective of four like-minded and determined individuals that all bring their very own style to the band. With the band split evenly between Philadelphia and Washington, DC the colors of each city and individual shines through their music and performances. This band is the ultimate example of true love for their craft, and they are now ready to share that love with the world in the form of their debut studio effort, The Black Rabbit EP.

From the laid back, instrumental funk of “Breakfast Beats” to the soothing vocal jazz of “Cookie” and the upbeat groove and sassiness of their classic “Weeblow,” this collection of tunes brilliantly represents the diversity of talent within this incredible quartet. The band itself is made of an extremely tight knit group of musicians. Turk Gaines (keyboards, vocals), a multi-talented musician and teacher, taught both Olivia Flocco (vocals) and James McCreavy (bass guitar), giving them a common core of musical values and training. David Suggs (drums), a childhood friend and fellow arts major of Gaines’, rounds off the current lineup, adding a nostalgic quality to the group. The four of them each take a disciplined yet fun-loving approach to their skills, both as individuals and as a group. This unique group dynamic is easily seen in their smiles and eye contact on stage, and The Black Rabbit EP accurately transfers this energy into the recordings. The record also features a couple of special guests, including Nick Thrasher (LITZ) on percussion and the talented Brazilian duo, Minas, on percussion, keys and vocals.

The Black Rabbit EP was produced, mixed and mastered by Brendan McGeehan and recorded at It’s Your Funeral Studios and Blue Hippo Recording. The record also features original album artwork from Holly Smith. You can currently purchase physical copies of the EP at any of The Strange Heat’s live performances, while digital copies will be available soon! For now, enjoy this sneak peak of “Little Things” off of the new EP!



%d bloggers like this: